Love what you do and do what you love

After passing my standard 10 from high school, I did not know which career path to take, so I went for career guidance at the University of Technology and when I arrived there, I wrote an assessment test through the computer, answering questions. After I have completed the assessment test, they marked my test and I was given a feed back and they told me that the career path that I should take is Marketing or Business Management Qualification, then I said no, I would go for Internal Auditing Qualification and I registered for Auditing, and studying it was very interesting.

When I graduated from University of Technology for Internal Audit Qualification, I was very happy, looking forward to the corporate world. I got the internship in 2004 and I was very happy for getting the experience, but while I was working, I asked myself a million dollar question, that do I really enjoy what I am doing inspecting documents? and I said yeah I do, I am an Auditor. I was in my internship for twelve months and during the first six months I was assessed for performance appraisal, my supervisor gave feedback and she was very honest with me, she told that Auditing was not for me and I disagreed with her and I told her that I love auditing. She said okay if you are sure that you love it then I will not inform the director to remove you.

After my internship, my contract was not extended and after two months I got another auditing job at Auditor-General which was a contract of five months while working I could feel that I am just working for paying the bills and inside I was not fulfilled and ask myself that am I going to do this job for rest of my life? Truly speaking I was not happy inside and I did not what would make me happy. People would ask what kind job are doing and I would say I am an Auditor proudly, but deep inside I am dying and confused.

I convinced myself that may be along the way I will enjoy auditing, Auditor-General did not extend my contract so I had to leave, on my last day at work which was Friday, I received an interview call from another auditing company called “Sithole Incorporated CA” and they told me to come immediately, then I packed my things and said goodbyes to everyone and I left with peace and I attended the interview which I was invited, when I arrived there, they called me to their boardroom and interviewed, on my way back from the interview, I received a phone call from the company that interviewed that I got the job and I should start on Monday and I was very excited about the news.

I worked for “Sithole Incorporated CA” for five months but it was a permanent position, I did not stay that long in that company because they did not comply with certain requirements then I applied for another job in my previous company which was Auditor General and they gave me a contract of six months and I worked for a period of six months after six months, they extended it to another six months and I worked for two and half year on a contract basis, but something was missing inside of me, I was not really happy or love the job I was doing. It was merely for the sake of paying the bills but there was no enjoyment in my heart.

I kept on asking myself what kind of career that I should do to find fulfillment and there was no answer and after two years of working for Auditor-General, I got a promotion at Department of Home Affairs, I was very excited and I bought a car, but my excitement did not last for so long, I became frustrated with my job, during the year 2008, one of my friends borrowed me the book, the title of the book was “The Secret” I read the book discovered that thoughts are things and it also talked about meditation if you are looking for answers.

I started to meditate every morning and I started to read more motivational and spiritual books, and I started to talk about motivational topics, telling my friends about thoughts and energy you send out that what you receive back. One day I told my partner that I want to change a career to become a motivational speaker and she was not even surprised, she told me that she has realized that these days I am talking about motivation and spiritual things, and she was very supportive.

After realizing that I want to become a motivational, I started to serve the internet, checking on how to become a motivational speaker, the first thing that I have discovered is an association called Toastmasters and that is where they teach about public speaking and leadership skills. I register with them, now I started to feel fulfilled and excited; and even now as I am writing this article I am fulfilled.

On my first day at toastmasters, I made my first speech I was voted the best speaker, that was the good sign for me, I realized that I love my new career, currently, I am practicing public speaking and I am also entering competitions within toastmaster, I can’t wait to build myself development company. I can say I love what doing and I am doing what I love, and I am fulfilled. I just have to be patient with myself in order to become the best motivational speaker, because if I am not patient with myself, I will become a patient.

Wisdom lies not in giving the right answers, but in asking the right questions.

I asked myself the following questions, which are generic in nature. Ponder over them and try to restructure them to suit your particular situation:

If I was not already doing it, would I start doing it today? Is there anything in my life that, knowing what I now know, I would not get into again today?

If I were a follower, would I follow me?

If I did not own it, why would I buy it? (If I did own it, why would someone buy it?)

Would I work for this person that I am interviewing?

Can I go home and be proud of this decision? Will I be happy with it in five years’ time?

What am I prepared to die for?

If I had everything and did not have to work to earn a living, but had to work to make a difference, what would my work be?

Why was I born?

Who am I?

What is my God-given talent?

What is it that I should not die without having done?

Every has got a gold inside, but we should take our time to find it.

“Fulfillment is in living for what you are prepared to die for”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love what you do and do what you love

  1. Pingback: Interview – Running your own business in the IT Industry « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  2. Pingback: Wow Your Interviewer To Get the Job « Personal Finance Made Easy

Leave a Reply

